h1

Domino’s Icons of Style #4: Miles Redd’s Blue Door

February 27, 2009
Today’s guest post is another installment in the series, Domino’s Icons of Style, by Beth of Style Redux.  Let us know what your personal opinion of each icon of style is in the comments: love it? hate it? used it in your own place?  We want to know what you think!

This elegant robin’s egg blue front door belongs to the uber talented Miles Redd whose work was often showcased in Domino Magazine. The picture appeared in the November 2008 issue and ever since people have been blogging about blue doors and painting their doors blue. I think this color is a chic and sophisticated alternative to the ubiquitous red front door and black front door.  In the Mediterranean region and north Africa, blue front doors are very popular because blue is thought to keep away evil spirits.

Miles Redd's Front Door

Miles Redd's Beautiful Door

Note also the centered doorknob and the silver hardware. Baldwin Hardware has a beautiful collection of door hardware in nickel finish that would be wonderful–but don’t feel that you need to change your door hardware if you have brass. This shade would be lovely with brass as well.

I tried to find out the exact paint he used, but was told it was custom mixed on site by Miles Redd himself. Some great colors close to this are:

mpc0063177-2t

Martha Stewart C25 Robins Egg Blue

Sherwin Williams SW6484 Meander Blue

Sherwin Williams SW6484 Meander Blue

Benjamin Moore HC-144 Palladian Blue

Benjamin Moore HC-144 Palladian Blue

Farrow & Ball 22 Light Blue

Farrow & Ball 22 Light Blue

The Tiffany Blue box is a somewhat deeper and stronger robin’s egg blue, but will always be a gorgeous and iconic color.

tiffanybox

Here are two close matches to the Tiffany box:

Benjamin Moore 2048-50 Tropicana Cabana

Benjamin Moore 2048-50 Tropicana Cabana

Sherwin Williams SW6766 Mariner

Sherwin Williams SW6766 Mariner

This is my top project for my house this spring. Have any of you painted your door this color? I would love to see pictures! Just think, for the cost of a quart of paint, you’ll give your house a whole new look!

Thanks, Beth!

Icons of Style #1: Zebra Rugs
Icons of Style #2: Pink Walls
Icons of Style #3: Miles Redd Birdcage Bedroom

15 comments

  1. Great post, Beth. I love that color and recently did a version of the Tiffany blue on a piece of mine.


  2. [...] had forgotten about this door until Beth reminded me…I remember falling in love with its elegance the first time I saw it, especially the silver [...]


  3. Love that door!

    I painted my office a Benjamin Moore color called “Waterfall” which is very tiffany blue. I think going up a few shades from there and mixing in a tiny bit of gray would be a good match. Your local paint guy should be able to find the perfect thing.


  4. Mrslimestone-I checked out “Waterfall” and it looks perfect-thanks!


  5. [...] Domino Icons of Style #4: Miles Redd’s Blue Front Door [...]


  6. [...] Domino Icons of Style #4: Miles Redd’s Blue Front Door [...]


  7. [...] Miles Reed’s door, Domino Magazine, November 2009 – picture taken from here. [...]


  8. Are you still friends with anyone from that time in your life?


  9. [...] home’s color-drenched front door is inspired by designer Miles Redd’s blue front door that was once featured in Domino. “A lot of people walk by saying they love it,” says the [...]


  10. “http://mycityupdate.com/Hudsonholding/blogs/viewstory/636 Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time :-)


  11. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.


  12. where can we buy door?


  13. [...] Domino Icons of Style #4: Miles Redd’s Blue Front Door [...]


  14. Your style is so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.


  15. Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the great works guys I’ve you guys
    to blogroll.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

