h1

The Domino Inspired My Home Contest Entry: Beth

March 18, 2009

dominocontestlogoDomino Inspired Room: My Living Room

This vignette is a wall in my living room that I feel captures the essence of Domino for me.

1. Chinoiserie – Domino loved to use chinoiserie to add a luxe, glamorous elegance to any room. The key is to mix it with modern pieces to keep it fresh. (December 2005) I used a Chinese garden stool, this beautiful lacquer chest, Chinese calligraphy brushes, and framed an antique silk kimono fragment I found on eBay.

img_0881

Beth's Living Room Vignette

2. Louis XVI Chair and especially the Philipe Stark Ghost Chair – Domino called this their mascot they used it so much. (October 2006) This iconic piece bridges the antique (Louis XVI) with modern (lucite). Lucite was another Domino favorite. I love the way you see through the chair to the painting.

img_0700
3. Tableau – Domino showed us how to compose a tableau of beautiful objects. I liked Kelly Wearstler’s recommendation of changing up the scale, form and material to energize a tableau. (October 2008) I put together objects I love – a hand painted vase, an elegant liquer bottle, pins from J.Crew, a paperweight from Paper Source, calligraphy brushes, a goose feather topiary decorated with vintage Christmas ornaments.

img_0887
4. Art – I was inspired by Domino’s suggestion of using a large-scale unframed canvas as a visual point of interest to focus the energy of the room. (April 2007) I have also been drawn to calligraphic art and these calligraphy brushes. I picked up a canvas and a gold paint pen and for $40 and 1 hour of work, I have a dramatic original work of art. The modern nude is another Domino inspiration from their article about painting-a-day art bloggers. (July/August 2006) I leaned two of the pieces of art against the wall and left them unframed for a chic modern approach.

img_0886
I hope you like it!

img_0884

Thanks, Beth!

5 comments

  1. [...] Beth’s living room [...]


  2. [...] Beth’s living room [...]


  3. [...] category, we had Alison’s bedroom, S. Freeman’s bedroom, Louise’s bedroom, and Beth’s living room wall.  In the Whole Room category, we had AG’s dining room, Don’s conservatory, [...]


  4. j0n3G7 comment3 ,


  5. When I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there an easy method you are able to remove me from that service? Cheers!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

