h1

Funeral Blues for Domino

February 18, 2009
Bedroom by Miles Redd

Bedroom by Miles Redd

Beth, of Style Redux, posted an appropriate poem for the reason we gather here.  We’ll hear from Beth later this week with a guest post, but in the meantime, enjoy the pic of her favorite Domino room on the left, a few words from her post about Domino’s demise, as well as a poem by W.H. Auden:

“Domino was a magazine that valued style, not price tags. Job well done, but you were with us too short a time. Here is a lovely poem to honor the passing of an outstanding magazine.”

Funeral Blues
W.H. Auden

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone,
Silence the pianos and with muffled drum
Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come.

Let aeroplanes circle moaning overhead
Scribbling on the sky the message He Is Dead,
Put crepe bows round the white necks of the public doves,
Let the traffic policeman wear black cotton gloves.

He was my North, my South, my East and West,
My working week and my Sunday rest,
My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song;
I thought that love would last for ever: I was wrong.

The stars are not wanted now; put out every one;
Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun;
Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood.
For nothing now can ever come to any good.

.

Thanks, Beth!
10 comments

  1. One of my favorite Auden poems (which always reminds me of that great scene in Four Weddings and a Funeral).


  2. […] Zebra Rug February 20, 2009 Today’s guest post is from Beth of Style Redux–who shared that great W.H. Auden poem with us–and will be bringing us the mini-series, Domino’s Icons of Style.  Let us know […]


  3. […] guest post is from Beth of Style Redux–who shared that great W.H. Auden poem with us–and will be bringing us the mini-series, Domino’s Icons of Style.  Let us know what […]


  4. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very
    easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create
    your theme? Great work!


  5. Insulation: Some materials insulate better than others. While
    lumber could be the worst conductor of heat, and
    so the most effective insulator, aluminium may be the worst insulator.

    PVCu transfers fairly less heat than aluminum,
    but considerably more than timber.


  6. You’ll want to start with a service including the National Renewable Energy Laboratory’s PV watts
    calculator to determine how big a solar-power
    system that can provide 3,600 kWh each year at your
    region.


  7. Once you have an approximation of the overall project cost, divide that by the number of watts
    your method will supply, to be able to determine the actual per w cost
    of a self-installed solar energy project.


  8. Hi all, here every person is sharing these kinds of familiarity, therefore it’s fastidious to read this blog, and I used to pay a quick visit this webpage every day.


  9. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively useful
    and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & help different customers like
    its aided me. Good job.


  10. On a scale of 1 to 10, I’d rate this post as a 8. Nicely done.



Leave a Reply

