h1

Save Yourself from Architectural Digest

February 18, 2009
Just Say No to AD, if you'd like to

Just Say No to AD, for Your Domino Replacement

Word on the street is that Architectural Digest will be the replacement for outstanding issues of Domino subscriptions.  BO-RING! However, smart people everywhere–and me later today–will call the specific (Conde Nast-owned) magazine they really want and requested something else, like Vogue, Vanity Fair, Gourmet, or Lucky. I found this out via the commenters on Habitually Chic, and I’m happy to be able to share it with you.

Habitually Chic posted this web site with the telephone numbers of Conde Nast magazines.  They’ll look up your account by zip code and last name.  If we have to get something else besides Domino, then at least make it something that you want to receive.

Keep in mind, as well, you can request a refund for any portion of your subscription–but at the $5 rate I got subscriptions for my friends as Christmas gifts, they’re better off getting a different magazine.

As for AD, I remember reading AD 20 years ago when I was just a kid and thinking it was  staid, even back then (though I was so desperate for home decor magazines that I read it whenever I could).  The Bean put it best over on Habitually Chic: “I swear their editor in chief died ten years ago and they just keep her around “Weekend at Bernie’s” style pretending she’s still in charge.”

P.S. One thing I did really enjoy about AD was the fact that they included architectural plans for some of their features, something I wished Domino had done much more of and seemed to be getting away from.  You can see some of the outrageous AD-featured floor plans in this slideshow.

2 comments

  1. Good to know! Thanks for sharing!


  2. This is so helpful! I just renewed my subscription and wondered if I needed to write and ask for my money back. I’m with you…I have no desire to read AD. Thanks for this site…I’ll be checking back often to get my Domino fix.



Leave a Reply

