h1

The Domino Inspired My Home Contest Entry: Don

March 16, 2009

dominocontestlogoDomino Inspired Room: My Conservatory

I have a small-enclosed balcony that I wanted to have the feel of an English conservatory.  It overlooks a great water view that I wished to feature, not compete with.

As a charter subscriber to Domino Magazine, I always admired the Saarinen table and thought that its elegant and understated profile would be perfect for this space.  The sleek, round Saarinen table, with its stealth profile, opened up this area and gave me an unobstructed view of the river outside.  The rest of the room flowed from this table.

As Beth of Style Redux said, it was a favorite of Domino Magazine and she doubts there was a single issue that did not feature a “tulip” or “pedestal” table.  I soon realized this table would be perfect for me and I wanted the original.  I chose the black marble version.  I selected a green palette to bring the outdoors in.  The walls were done in a pale celadon green.

Domino also inspired the Philippe Starck Louis ghost chairs.  I picked out understated roman shades to keep the expansive view.  I used many garden related accessories to keep the conservatory feeling — slate floors, a garden stool, topiaries and silk flowers, a pagoda lantern, a copper and metal etagere and botanicals.

img_0466

The curvy and see-through Philippe Starck ghost chairs complement my Saarinen table and aid my quest to stylishly preserve my view.

img_0455

The gray-green slate floors enhance the elegant table and chairs and add an outdoors quality to my conservatory.
img_0456

Finally, a Lucite console table was a natural extension of the Saarinen table and ghost chairs.  The botanicals, lamps, marbles and amaryllis all help to establish my green palette.

img_0521

Here is a summer shot of the view I wanted to protect.

65102411hi-res_front_photo

Thanks, Don!
6 comments

  1. I love this space-it looks like it is right off the pages of Domino. The see-through furniture, the Saarinen table, the soft green colors are all perfect. Beautifully done!


  2. Beautifully done!


  3. […] Don’s conservatory […]


  4. […] and Beth’s living room wall.  In the Whole Room category, we had AG’s dining room, Don’s conservatory, Nicole’s living room, Kate’s kitchen, Kylee’s living room, and Kate C’s […]


  5. Well Decorated ! looks amazing place


  6. You space looks so beautiful. Do you think Ralph Lauren Forde Abbey would pair well with a medium plum purple?



Leave a Reply

