h1

The Domino Inspired My Home Contest Entry: Nicole

March 16, 2009

dominocontestlogoDomino Inspired Room: My Living Room
How I was Inspired by Domino: The Jan/Feb 2006 issue of Domino included a story called “Gray, Cream & Espresso” which featured the most cozy looking room with walls painted an amazing grayish beige color which domino coined “greige” (don’t you love it?!).

dominoinspirationpic

I loved the color so much I told myself that when I moved into my new apartment (several months after the issue dropped), I would paint my walls the Ralph Lauren shade of “greige” called Forde Abbey that was featured in the magazine. The funny thing is I went over a friend of my cousins’ apartment shortly after I saw the Domino: she had just painted her living room the same exact color after seeing it in Domino!

Seeing the color in a real apartment sealed the deal for me. So I moved, and I painted my walls Forde Abbey.

lr-before1

I also wanted to recreate the cozy feel of the living room from Domino in my apartment not only by painting the walls the same color but also by using the same gray, cream and espresso color pallete througout the room.

lr-before2

The two photos of my living room above are what the room looked like around a year ago, and the other two below show the most recent incarnation of my living room with a bit of subtle color added to the gray cream and espresso pallete.

lr-now

lr-now2
Sources:

Paint: Ralph Lauren Forde Abbey from Home Depot
Sofa-Mitchell Gold+Bob Williams: “Luc” sleeper sofa
Coffee Table & End Table: West Elm
Floor lamp on left of sofa: West Elm
Table lamp on end table: Urban Outfitters
Chair: Phillipe Starck Louis Ghost Chair (in older pic)
Chair:
Louis XV style chair via ebay, painted gold and reupholstered with Kelly Wearstler/Lee Jofa metalic linen (in new pic)

Thanks, Nicole!

8 comments

  1. Magazine worthy shots!


  2. Immaculate, and so zen!


  3. This is absolutely gorgeous!


  4. Looks like Domino material! Best of luck!


  5. […] Nicole’s bedroom […]


  6. […] room wall.  In the Whole Room category, we had AG’s dining room, Don’s conservatory, Nicole’s living room, Kate’s kitchen, Kylee’s living room, and Kate C’s dining […]


  7. Thanks so much for posting the color of your walls! I found you through Googling Forde Abbey paint hoping to see an example – and waaaLA! It looks awesome and your rooms are beautiful.


  8. Domino inspired you…you inspire me!

    I also found you googling Forde Abby. I seriously thought your photo was from a photo shoot for Ralph Lauren. Good job!

    What type of fabric did you use for your sofa? I’m assuming the color is espresso?

    Thanks so much for sharing this. It’s such a great help.



Leave a Reply

